Get in touch
INSIGHTS – PAGE HEADER – FE Fundinfo Alpha Manager Hall Of Fame 2024 Revealed 1820X375

Schroders’ Robin Parbrook awarded 2024’s Alpha Manager of the Year

Today, Schroders’ Robin Parbrook received the much sought-after award of Alpha Manager of the Year at the 2024 Alpha Manager Awards. The virtual ceremony, hosted by leading financial data company FE fundinfo, celebrates the best performing active fund managers in the investment industry. Now in its 9th year, the Alpha Manager Awards are widely recognised across the industry as a major validation of fund performance, celebrating the top 10% of fund managers in the UK.

Parbrook’s success follows back-to-back nominations in the Alpha Manager of the Year category, in recognition of his strong performance across all key metrics over his successful career. Parbrook overcame strong competition from Julian Fosh and Anthony Cross, both from Liontrust, Terry Smith, from Fundsmith, David Gait, from Stewart Investors, and Hyunho Sohn from Fidelity.

Schroders’ recurring success at the awards continued this year, with Charles Somers awarded the ‘Best New Alpha Manager’ Award. This reflected Somers’s successful work in managing global equities, consistently delivering above benchmark returns for his clients. Somers topped a list filled with exceptional new Alpha Managers, with the runners up including Jacques Hirsch from Carmignac, Mark Mandel from Wellington, Jeroen Brand from NB, and James Bullock from Lindsell Train.

Charles Younes, Deputy Chief Investment Officer, FE fundinfo, said:

“The last few years have presented unprecedented challenges for the investment sector. From Covid-19 to international conflict, fund managers have battled high interest rates, political instability and rapid inflation. Everyone recognised at this year’s Alpha Managers awards has managed to achieve success and deliver value for clients in the face of these circumstances, thriving rather than just surviving. The awards celebrate the best of the best in the fund industry, rewarding fund managers who, across their careers, have consistently outperformed peers in delivering exceptional alpha returns for clients.

“Robin Parbrook’s win is testament to his perseverance and consistency in performance for his clients. His consecutive nominations in this category reflect his successful career, and he now joins the select group of high performing industry figures to have received this award.”

Alpha Manager Award winners 2024 

Twelve awards were announced during the virtual ceremony, recognising achievements across a range of categories and celebrating the best UK fund managers.

In a notable return, last year’s best New Alpha Manager, Jonathan Golan from Man GLG, continued his success by winning in the Sterling Fixed Income category for his work on the Man GLG Sterling Corporate Bond (LDYH) fund. Furthermore, returning champions, Jack Barrat and Henry Dixon, both from Man GLG, achieved successive wins in the UK Equities category.





Alpha Manager of the Year

Robin Parbrook


Best New Alpha Manager

Charles Somers



Mike Fox

Royal London

Absolute Returns

Ben Wallace and Luke Newman

Janus Henderson

Global Developed Equities

Mike Fox

Royal London

Asia Pac (ex Japan) and GEM

Rajiv Jain, Brian Kersmanc & Sudarshan Murthy


European Equities

John Bennett

Janus Henderson

UK Equities

Jack Barrat and Henry Dixon


US Equities

Aziz Hamzaogullari


Japanese Equities

Carl Vine


Sterling Fixed Income

Jonathan Golan


Sterling Strategic Bond

Richard Hodges


The winners of FE fundinfo’s Alpha Manager Awards are determined by narrowing down the total list of FE fundinfo Alpha-rated managers to a shortlist of the highest-scoring managers per category. Once the shortlist has been refined, FE fundinfo’s panel apply a qualitative analysis overlay to select the eventual winners.

The full list of the 2024 Alpha Manager Award winners can be seen here: